World Trade Organisation was established in 1995, replacing the General Agreement on Tariffs and Trade (GATT) which had been signed in 1947 within the framework of UN. A year later, Greece joined GATT in 1948.

The main objective of the WTO is to establish common rules and principles after intensive consultations among its currently 148 member states, in order to regulate the international trade.

On the basis of EU Treaty, the official negotiator of the Community in the process of the WTO negotiations is the European Commission. Greece, like the other member states of the EU, participates actively in the formulation of the common stance and argumentation of the European Union.

Within the framework of the WTO, the international agreements that concern the agricultural sector directly or indirectly are:

  • Agreement on Agriculture,
  • Agreement on Trade Related Aspects of Intellectual Property Rights (TRIPs) in  which            there are provisions for the Geographical Indications.
  • Agreement on the application of Sanitary and Phytosanitary measures (SPS).
  • Agreement on Technical Barriers to Trade (TBT).
  • Agreement on Subsidies and Countervailing Measures in which the subsidies for                 fisheries are included.

Responsible: Dimitris Moutsatsos

Agricultural negotiations in the framework of the Roha Round
Doha Round Negotiations – Framework for establishing modalities in Agriculture
Doha Round Negotiations – 6th WTO Ministerial Conference (Dec. 13-18, 2005)

Related Articles